Monday, March 9, 2015


By Executive Order*, President Obama has sanctioned seven senior Venezuelan leaders, all of whom have been involved in human rights abuses. The President declared "a national emergency with respect to the unusual and extraordinary threat to the national security and foreign policy of the United States, posed by the situation in Venezuela." He also stated that America was committed to "protecting the US financial system from the illicit finance flows, from public corruption in Venezuela."

The individuals sanctioned are well-known human rights violators, and some have links to the rampant international narcotics trafficking that pervades Venezuelan society. They are now prohibited from entry into the United States, and their property, where located inside America, is ordered blocked:

1. Antonio José Benavides Torres - former Director of Operations, Bolivarian National Guard.
2. Gustavo Enrique González López - Director-General of SEBIN, and president of CESPPA.
3. Justo José  Noguera Pietri - former Commander of Bolivarian National Guard.
4. Katherine Nayarith Haringhton Padron - Prosecutor in Venezuela Public Ministry.
5. Manuel Eduardo Pérez Urdaneta - Director of Bolivarian National Police.
6. Manuel Gregorio Bernal Martinez - former Director-General of SEBIN.
7. Miguel Alcides Vivas Landino - Inspector General of Bolivarian Armed Forces.
*Blocking Property and Suspending Entry of Certain Persons Contributing to the Situation in Venezuela.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.